Just In...

Wednesday, September 18, 2013

P-Square And Iyanya Nominated For The 2013 Soul Train Awards

Some hours ago Nigerian superstars P-Square got nominated for the 2013 MTV EMA (Europe Music Awards) and now the duo have landed another nomination for the 2013 Soul Train Awards. They earned a nomination for the 'Best International Performance' category alongside Iyanya, for their hit songs “Personally” and “Ur Waist” respectively.
Kendrick Lamar was also nominated in six categories, while Miguel, Justin Timberlake, Robin Thicke, Chris Brown and Tamar Braxton all landed five nominations.

The 2013 Soul Train Awards will be hosted by actor-comedian Anthony Anderson. It is scheduled to take place at The Orleans Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada November 8 and it is slated to air at 9 PM EST/PST December 1 on CENTRIC and BET. 
The full list of 2013 Soul Train Awards categories and nominees is as follows:

Best International Performance (CENTRICTV.com)

“Differentology” - Bunji Garlin

“The Fog” - Machel Montano

“Next To Me” - Emeli Sande

“Personally” - P-Square

“Ur Waist” – Iyanya

Best New Artist

Bridget Kelly

K. Michelle

Kendrick Lamar

Tamar Braxton


Centric Certified Award

Joss Stone

Luke James

Lyfe Jennings


Stacy Barthe

Talib Kweli

Best Gospel/Inspirational Performance

“Break Every Chain” - Tasha Cobbs

“Confessions” - Lecrae

“Every Praise” - Hezekiah Walker

“God Will Make Away” - Shirley Caesar

“If He Did It Before…Same God” - Tye Tribbett

“Life & Favor” - John P. Kee & New Life

Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year

“Bad” - Wale f. Tiara Thomas

“High School” - Nicki Minaj f. Lil Wayne

“Holy Grail” - Jay Z f. Justin Timberlake

“Poetic Justice” - Kendrick Lamar f. Drake

“Power Trip” - J. Cole f. Miguel

“Started From the Bottom” - Drake

The Chaka Khan Best R&B/Soul Female Artist

Alicia Keys

Chrisette Michele


Janelle Monae

Kelly Rowland

Tamar Braxton

Best R&B/Soul Male Artist

Bruno Mars

Charlie Wilson

Chris Brown

John Legend


Robin Thicke

Album of the Year

The 20/20 Experience – Justin Timberlake

good kid, m.A.A.d city – Kendrick Lamar

Kaleidoscope Dream - Miguel

Magna Carta Holy Grail – Jay Z

The Side Effects of You - Fantasia

Unapologetic - Rihanna

Song of the Year

“Blurred Lines” – Robin Thicke f. Pharrell & T.I.

“Diamonds” -Rihanna

“Fine China” – Chris Brown

“Love and War” – Tamar Braxton

“Poetic Justice” – Kendrick Lamar f. Drake

“Suit & Tie” – Justin Timberlake f. Jay Z

The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award

“Crooked Smile” – J.Cole (Jermaine Cole, Meleni Smith)

“Fire We Make” – Alicia Keys f. Maxwell (Gary Clark Jr., Warren Felder, Alicia Keys, Andrew Wansel)

“Lose to Win” – Fantasia (Francine Golde, Dennis Lambert, Andrea Martin, Walter Orange, Harmony Samuels)

“Love & War” – Tamar Braxton (Tamar Braxton, Darhyl Camper Jr., LaShawn Daniels, Makeba Riddick)

“Mirrors” – Justin Timberlake (James Fauntleroy, Jerome Harmon, Timothy Mosley, Justin Timberlake)

“Q.U.E.E.N.” – Janelle Monae f. Erykah Badu (Roman GianArthur Irvin , Dr. Nathaniel Irvin III, Charles Joseph II, Janelle Monáe Robinson, Kellis Parker Jr.)

Best Dance Performance

“Blurred Lines” – Robin Thicke

“Body Party” - Ciara

“Fine China” – Chris Brown

“Q.U.E.E.N.” – Janelle Monáe f. Erykah Badu

“Suit & Tie” – Justin Timberlake f. Jay Z

“Treasure” – Bruno Mars

Video of the Year

“Blurred Lines” – Robin Thicke f. Pharrell & T.I. (Diane Martel)

“Fine China” – Chris Brown (Chris Brown, Sylvain White)

“Love & War” – Tamar Braxton (Walid Azami)

"Poetic Justice” – Kendrick Lamar f. Drake (The Lil Homie, Dave Free, and Dangeroo Kipawaa)

"Q.U.E.E.N." – Janelle Monae f. Erykah Badu (Alan Ferguson)

"Started from the Bottom" – Drake (Director X)

Best Collaboration

Alicia Keys f. Maxwell – “Fire We Make”

Brandy f. Chris Brown – “Put It Down”

J.Cole f. Miguel – “Power Trip”

Janelle Monae f. Erykah Badu – “Q.U.E.E.N.”

Miguel f. Kendrick Lamar – “How Many Drinks”

Robin Thicke f. Pharrell & T.I. – “Blurred Lines”

Wale f. Sam Dew – “LoveHate Thing”

Best Traditional Jazz Performance (CENTRICTV.com)

George Benson f. Wynton Marsalis – “Unforgettable”

Jeffrey Osborne f. Chaka Khan – “Baby it’s Cold Outside”

Tony Bennett f. Marc Anthony – “For Once In My Life”

Nicole Henry – “Waiting In Vain”

Terence Blanchard – “Pet Step Sister’s Theme Song”

Best Contemporary Jazz Performance (CENTRICTV.com)

Jose James – “Trouble”

Boney James f. Rick Braun – “Batucada (The Beat)”

Michael Buble – “It’s A Beautiful Day”

Dave Koz – “Got To Get You Into My Life”

George Duke – “Missing You”

Best Independent R&B/Soul Performance (CENTRICTV.com)

Ashanti – “Never Should Have”

Brian McKnight – “Sweeter”

Kenny Lattimore – “Find A Way”

Maysa – “Love Me Good”

Raheem DeVaughn – “Love Connection”

Ronald Isley – “Dinner And A Movie”


  1. Hard work pays. Congrats guys.

  2. Psquare is winning. big big congrats.

  3. So proud of u guys. congrats

  4. Psquare no wan hear. happy for una, I hope say them go give una the award.

  5. Psquare and Iyanan I love u guys, but let the beat team win.


Shop Online From The Comfort Of Your Home Or Office By Clicking On This Banner

Welcome To Obehi Okoawo's Blog...We Love To Hear From You In The Comment Box Above, Thanks