Just In...

Thursday, December 20, 2012

Soyinka Calls Obafemi Awolowo Prize For Leadership ''the creme de la creme of all awards''

The Selection Committee, Obafemi Awolowo Prize for Leadership, on Wednesday named Nobel Laureate, Prof. Wole Soyinka, the recipient of the maiden edition of the award.

Chairman of the Selection Committee and former Secretary-General of the Commonwealth, Chief Emeka Anyaoku, said the prize, which would be awarded every two years, consisted of a medal, a certificate and a plaque.
He said after a careful consideration, the committee unanimously concluded that of all the nominees presented before it, Soyinka emerged the most qualified for the award.
Soyinka, was not in attendance, but Anyaoku disclosed that the winner, in his reaction, said he was overwhelmed by the news of the award, just as he described the award as crème de la crème of all awards that had ever been bestowed on him.

1 comment:

Shop Online From The Comfort Of Your Home Or Office By Clicking On This Banner

Welcome To Obehi Okoawo's Blog...We Love To Hear From You In The Comment Box Above, Thanks